Security and SportsSport Security

It is our shared responsibility to dare taking some calculated risks and explore what lies beyond conventional Major Event Security to ensure future events are peaceful and safe but also sustainable. We can only achieve this as a community.
(Aldric Ludescher, Head of Security, IOC, 2018)

Today the sport sector is characterized by 4 key elements: international exposure, publicity, commercialization and complexity. Increasing risks and hazards for athletes, events, clubs, associations and their functionaries must be dealt with professionally. Sport needs protection and security = more than ever before.

Besides a deep understanding for relevant stakeholders we also gained their trust when it comes to the development and implementation of modern, individual security concepts.

Areas of Support

  • Security Assessments, Pre-checking of Relevant Locations (Venues, Training Grounds and Facilities, Accommodation Facilities, Site Visits, etc.)

    In order to ensure optimal preparation, places of residence and event locations need to be assessed in advance from a security perspective. Obtaining an accurate picture of existing security arrangements and where possible nullifying any deficits is fundamental to an adequate and professional reaction in the case of an emergency.

  • Security Escorts for Athletes, Functionaries and Guests

    Depending on relevant risk indicators, either direct or extended personal protection could be the appropriate choice if danger is to be averted. Protection measures range from deterring potential offenders, the concrete prevention of assaults to medical emergency assistance.

  • Risk Monitoring in the Context of Tournaments, Events and Travel

    Major events, domestic clubs, national teams and individual exposed athletes can present as attractive targets for criminally motivated individuals or groups. Possible threat elements and corresponding risks are matters requiring continuous monitoring, which will allow the correct conclusions to be drawn from a security point of view. This is also supported by the regular utilization of software based analysis and control instruments.

  • Behavior Profiling in the Framework of Major Event Security Concepts

    Our preventative approaches for the targeted identification of violent persons in the context of large-scale events combine elements of situational awareness, facial expressions according to Ekamn and methods for the assessment of critical movement patterns in the tactical approach of terrorist or mentally ill perpetrators (amongst others, those from the Islamic State).

  • Emergency Planning for Various Stakeholders

    Organizers of large-scale sporting events are obliged to have documented plans in order to react effectively to all possible emergency situations. Within the framework of strategic security planning for organizers of major events we draw up the relevant documents in the normal course of business. But on behalf of participants, accompanying persons and visitors we also address relevant what-if questions and derive individual emergency plans which allow us to maintain an overview and enable an appropriate approach in extreme situations.

  • Security Coordination on the Occasion of Championships and Tournaments

    At large-scale international sporting events, governing bodies and responsible public authorities of the host nation are generally responsible for the central security organization. Even though organizers set standards and guidelines, as well as monitor compliance from the participant’s point of view, it is recommended to compare one’s own security interests and expectations with the personnel, organizational, technical and infrastructure precautions taken. If necessary, deficits need to be addressed delicately and discreetly and coordination, cooperation and complementary measures need to be to be introduced accordingly.

  • Anti Fraud Investigations

    In the course of the economization of corruption in sport, doping and other forms of competition manipulation have morphed into major threat factors. The exposure, forensic investigation and sustainable combat of this kind of crime require a holistic approach. In addition to sporting insider knowledge, criminal justice expertise and specialized methods of investigation, sensitivity and sure-footedness are required when it comes to dealing with responsible law enforcement authorities and specific non-government organizations (e.g. anti-doping agencies).

  • Cyber Defense & Information Security

    Large-scale sporting events are becoming more and more digitalized. Cyber-risk exposure is increasing rapidly. Regardless of the principles of conduct, which have been determined: events, teams, individual athletes and functionaries are increasingly confronted with such threats. Hackers use incriminated information, amongst other things, with regard to stadium and scoring systems, confidential commercial strategies, sponsoring and partner deals and personal credit card data from online sales for illegal activities. Making a profit is not always the focus. Sometimes the perpetrators are simply interested in causing maximum financial or reputational damage. We consult organizations and operators on event-related matters in the context of cyber security and offer solutions, which decrease relevant risks for all stakeholders involved.

24/7 Emergency Response

In emergency cases we are available round the clock:

+49 89 4114717-17

Sicherheit und SportSport Security

It is our shared responsibility to dare taking some calculated risks and explore what lies beyond conventional Major Event Security to ensure future events are peaceful and safe but also sustainable. We can only achieve this as a community.
(Aldric Ludescher, Head of Corporate Security, IOC, 2018)

Der Sportsektor ist heute von Internationalität, Publizität, Kommerzialität und Komplexität geprägt. Wachsenden Risiken und Gefahren für Athleten, Veranstaltungen, Vereine, Verbände und deren Funktionäre muss professionell begegnet werden. Sport braucht Schutz und Sicherheit – mehr als jemals zuvor.

Wir haben uns neben einem tiefen Verständnis für relevante Akteure auch deren Vertrauen bei der Erstellung und Umsetzung moderner, individueller Sicherheitskonzepte erarbeitet.

Unterstützungsfelder

  • Security Assessments, Pre-checking relevanter Locations (Venues, Trainingsplätze, Unterkünfte, Besuchsorte, u.a.)

    Aufenthalts- bzw. Veranstaltungsorte müssen im zeitlichen Vorfeld unter Sicherheitsaspekten beurteilt werden, um optimal präpariert zu sein. Nur, wenn man sich ein genaues Bild vorhandener Sicherheitsdispositive verschaffen und eventuellen Defiziten noch abhelfen kann, ist man im Ernstfall in der Lage, angemessen und professionell zu reagieren.

  • Sicherheitsbegleitung für Athleten, Funktionäre und Gäste

    Je nach Risikoindikation kann direkter oder erweiterter Personenschutz das Mittel der Wahl zur Gefahrenabwehr sein. Häufig verbinden wir eine Sicherheitsbegleitung mit Maßnahmen der Raum-, Strecken- und Objektaufklärung zu einem dualistischen Präventionsansatz. Die Schutzdimensionen reichen von der Abschreckung potenzieller Täter über das konkrete Verhindern tätlicher Angriffe bis hin zu einer medizinischen Nothilfe.

  • Risk Monitoring im Turnier-/Event-/Reisekontext

    Major Events, Vereins- und Nationalmannschaften oder einzelne exponierte Sportlerinnen und Sportler sind für kriminell motivierte Einzeltäter oder Gruppierungen unter Umständen zielattraktiv. Mit möglichen Bedrohungselementen und korrespondierenden Risiken muss man sich permanent beschäftigen und aus der Sicherheitsperspektive die richtigen Schlüsse ziehen. Unterstützend setzen wir dazu regelmäßig Software-basierte Analyse- und Kontrollinstrumente ein.

  • Verhaltensprofiling im Rahmen von Major Event Security Konzepten

    Unsere Präventionsansätze zur gezielten Idenitifizierung potenziell gewaltbereiter Personen im Kontext von Großveranstaltungen verbinden Elemente aus Situational Awareness, Mimik-Aspekte nach Ekman und Methoden zur Einschätzung von kritischen Bewegungsmustern in der taktischen Annäherung terroristisch motivierter oder psychisch auffälliger Täter (u.a. Islamistic State’s Attackers.)

  • Emergency Planning für verschiedene Akteure

    Ausrichter von Sport-Großveranstaltungen müssen über dokumentierte Pläne verfügen, um wirksam auf alle denkbaren Ernstfälle reagieren zu können. Entsprechende Dokumente werden von uns regelmäßig im Rahmen der strategischen Sicherheitsplanung für Organisatoren von Major Events erstellt. Wir beschäftigen uns aber auch im Auftrag von Teilnehmern, Begleitpersonen oder Besuchern mit den relevanten What-if-Fragen und leiten individuelle Emergency Plans ab, mit denen man in Extremsituationen den Überblick behalten und handlungssicher vorgehen kann.

  • Sicherheitskoordination anlässlich von Meisterschaften und Turnieren

    Bei Großveranstaltungen internationaler Sport-Dachverbände obliegt die zentrale Sicherheitsorganisation in der Regel den Landesverbänden und zuständigen Behörden der „Host Nations“. Auch wenn die Ausrichter entsprechende Standards und Richtlinien vorgeben und deren Einhaltung kontrollieren, empfiehlt sich aus Sicht der Teilnehmer ein Abgleich eigener Sicherheitsinteressen und -erwartungen mit dem, was an personellen, organisatorischen, technischen und infrastrukturellen Vorkehrungen getroffen wird. Behutsam müssen Defizite gegebenenfalls adressiert und Koordinations-, Kooperations- oder Ergänzungsmaßnahmen auf den Weg gebracht werden.

  • Anti-Fraud-Ermittlungen

    Korruption, Doping und andere Formen der Wettkampfmanipulation haben sich im Zuge der Ökonomisierung des Sports zu wesentlichen Bedrohungsfaktoren entwickelt. Die Aufdeckung, forensische Aufarbeitung und nachhaltige Bekämpfung entsprechender Kriminalität erfordert einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz. Neben sportlichem Insiderwissen, strafjuristischer Expertise und besonderen Ermittlungsmethoden kommt es auf Fingerspitzengefühl und Trittsicherheit im Umgang mit zuständigen Strafverfolgungsbehörden oder speziellen Nichtregierungsorganisationen (z.B. Anti-Doping-Agenturen) an.

  • Cyber Defense & Information Security

    Sportliche Großveranstaltungen werden immer digitaler. Die Cyber-Risiko-Exposition steigt rasant. Egal, welche Verhaltensgrundsätze festgeschrieben sind: Events, Teams, einzelne Sportler und Funktionäre sind zunehmend mit entsprechenden Bedrohungen konfrontiert. Hacker nutzen inkriminierte Informationen, u.a. über Stadion- und Scoring-Systeme, vertrauliche Geschäftsstrategien, Sponsoring- und Partnerdeals oder persönliche Kreditkartendaten aus Online-Verkäufen für illegale Machenschaften. Nicht immer steht eine Gewinnerzielungsabsicht im Vordergrund. Manchmal geht es den Tätern einfach nur darum, maximalen finanziellen oder reputationalen Schaden anzurichten. Wir beraten Ausrichter und Veranstalter anlassbezogen im Kontext Cybersicherheit und bieten Lösungen an, mit denen relevante Risiken für alle beteiligten Akteure gemindert werden können.

24/7 Emergency Response

Im Notfall sind wir rund um die Uhr für Sie telefonisch erreichbar:

+49 89 4114717-17